Skip navigation

Since Zev’s death, I find myself speaking of gratitude and practicing an ‘attitude of gratitude’ with increasing frequency.

It is so easy to live gratefully. And, yet so many of us spend a majority of our time focusing on negative thoughts and feelings. Perception and attitude truly are the most important tools in changing our lives and finding joy.

When I spend time feeling sorry for myself, and believe me, I do plenty of that, it is near impossible to view anything as positive. If I chose to live every moment that way, I would become bitter, robbing myself of hope and of joy. And I know in my heart Zev would not want me to stay stuck in a place of self-pity, bitterness, and guilt.

There have been many moments this past year that I have found comfort in seeing or hearing the expression of gratitude by a friend, neighbor, even, on occasion a stranger. It helps me to feel that Zev’s life (and untimely death) made a lasting, positive impact on the world.

Zev’s joyful, compassionate, generous spirit, her fearless attitude, and zest for life are constant sources of motivation for me.

Let her short years of human existence serve as a reminder. Life is short, and it is fragile; we should treat it as such. Reach out to those you care for, expressing your gratitude and love in as many ways possible, every day.

Sow seeds of love and gratitude, and you will find that you reap joy one-hundred-fold!

Leave a Reply

